Ichabod volleyball falls to Minnesota Duluth in regional quarterfinal, 3-1

Rick Peterson


WAYNE, Neb. – The No. 15 nationally-ranked and No. 6-seeded Washburn volleyball team won the opening set of the NCAA Central Region quarterfinal match, but was unable to stop a strong offensive attack by No. 6 Minnesota Duluth and lost in four sets on Friday afternoon.

JalynStevenson4Washburn sophomore Jalyn Stevenson registered a team-high 15 kills in Friday's 3-1 loss to Minnesota Duluth in the NCAA Central Regional at Wayne, Neb. [Photo courtesy of Washburn Athletics]

The Ichabods finished the season with a record of 24-8 and as MIAA Tournament champions.
Washburn lost by the set scores of 25-21, 21-25, 19-25, and 19-25.

The Bulldogs improved their record to 26-4 and move on to the regional semifinal against No. 3 Concordia-St. Paul on Saturday.
In the opening set, Jalyn Stevenson broke an early 4-all tie with a kill that started a 5-1 run to give the Ichabods an 8-4 lead.

During that run, the sophomore outside had three kills and an ace. Washburn held a 16-11 advantage when Minnesota Duluth rallied with six-consecutive points to jump in front by one for its first lead of the game.

Stevenson came through with her fifth kill of the set to level the score at 17 and followed that up with another service ace to put Washburn up, 18-17.

Read more ...

First-teamers Bradstreet, Garvin lead nine city All-State soccer selections

Rick Peterson


Nine Topeka boys soccer players have received All-State recognition from the Kansas High School Soccer Coaches Association, led by first-team selections Easton Bradstreet of Washburn Rural (Class 6A) and Jordan Garvin of Shawnee Heights (Class 5A).

EastonBradstreetDeSotoWashburn Rural senior forward Easton Bradstreet has received first-team All-State honors in Class 6A by the Kansas High School Soccer Coaches Association. [File photo/TSN]

 JordanGarvinaction2Shawnee Heights senior Jordan Garvin (9) has been named a first-team All-State pick in Class 5A by the KHSSCA. [File photo/TSN]

Bradstreet, who led Rural to a fourth-place finish in the Class 6A state tournament, and Garvin, named the player of the year in the United Kansas Conference, are both senior forwards and both helped lead their teams to league championships in the Centennial League and UKC, respectively.

Washburn Rural senior defender Cayden Lee and junior forward Devon Rutschmann were both named to the All-6A second team while Topeka High senior forward Aidan Morrison and Wahburn Rural senior midfielder received honorable mention.

Shawnee Heights senior midfielder Isaac Wilson was a second-team all-state pick in 5A while T-Bird senior forward Jesus Cardona and junior forward Jack Martin received honorable mention.

For a player to receive all-state honors from the KHSSCA, their coach must be a member of the association.


Read more ...