Murdock, Tilford, Nelson among top at-large Best of Best candidates

Rick Peterson


EDITOR'S NOTE: Over the coming weeks, will recognize hundreds of Shawnee County's all-time greats in 25 sports/categories as part of our Best of the Best project. Readers will have the opportunity to vote through July, with the Top 25 in all categories announced in August. To cast a vote for the Best of the Best, click on: votes/nominations will also be accepted at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Over the past couple of weeks has published ballots for its Best of the Best project in all of the Kansas State High School Activities Association-sanctioned sports that Shawnee County High Schools currently compete in.

But some of the top athletes in county history performed in athletic endeavors outside that realm.

Hayden product Margaret Thompson Murdock was a silver medalist in the 1976 Olympic Games as a shooter while Tom Bunger (Washburn Rural) and Caitlin Morrisey (Topeka West) also excelled in that sport.

Margaret MurdockMargaret Murdock

Steve TilfordSteve Tilford

Read more ...

Hayden to establish Hall of Fame

Rick Peterson


Hayden Catholic High School has announced its plans to launch the Hayden Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame will recognize individuals in four categories -- alumni achievement, student athletic/activity achievement, staff achievement and contributor.

"Individuals will be recognized for achievements that are noteworthy and deserving of recognition,'' Hayden stated in a press release. "These individuals will serve as role models and examples of achievement to future students, staff and supporters.''

Hayden and the Hayden High School Foundation serve as the sponsoring organizations of the Hall of Fame.

Nominations for the 2021 class will be accepted throughJuly 31, 2021, and may be submitted by anyone.

Nominee notifications and announcements for the 2021 inaugural Hall of Fame will take place in mid-September.

A Hall of Fame dinner will take place on Saturday, Dec. 4, 2021. Requests for a nomination form can be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. 

Related Stories and Videos