2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee, Jim Golden

TSN to name top 100 athletes in Shawnee County...Will Nijaree Canady be on the list?

[Stanford Athletics]

2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee, Kelsey Chipman

[File Photo by /TSN

Bob Benoit, 2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee

Nick Stringer, 2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee

TSN to name top 100 greatest athletes in Shawnee Cty....Will Gary Woodland be on the list?

[PGA Tour]

Dan Key Rising Stars of the Week
JimGoldenHOF 10 NickStringerHOF 5
Jim Golden Nick Stringer

TSN In the Know Logo

Topeka Swim Association
Click to view »



Six Washburn University players have earned recognition on the All-MIAA women's soccer team, including second-team picks Emily Michaelis and Tera Lynch, while former Cair Paravel Latin standout Hannah Woolery earned first-team honors for Emporia State.

Woolery, a sophomore midfielder, moved up to the All-MIAA first team after earning honorable mention last season.

Woolery is tied for second in the MIAA with seven assists, fourth in points scored with 23 and sixth with eight goals scored this year.

20210919 ESUSoccerVs.Washburn DC 6066Emporia State sophomore Hannah Woolery, a Cair Paravel product, has been named to the All-MIAA soccer first-team. [Photo courtesy of ESU Photography]

She was the MIAA offensive player of the week on September 21 following her two-goal effort against Washburn.

 Tera LynchTera Lynch

21Michaelis EmilyEmily Michaelis

Second-teamers Lynch, a senior midfielder, and Michaelis, a sophomore defender, lead Washburn's all-conference contingent while sophomore goalkeeper Raegan Wells and freshman forward Khloe Schuckman earned third-team honors and defender Mattie Miano and midfielder Charlie Taylor received honorable mention.

Central Missouri’s Kassie Newsom was selected as the MIAA’s offensive player of the year for the 2021 season. Newsom led the league with 43 points to help UCM win its second consecutive MIAA regular-season championship.

Her 13 assists led the MIAA while her 15 goals ranked second. Four of Newsom’s 15 goals were game-winning scores. The Jennies junior also ranked second in the league with 69 shots and 36 shots on goal. Newsom’s 13 assists are currently tied for first in Division II while her 43 total points rank second in the nation. This is Newsom’s second consecutive season earning All-MIAA honors.
Central Oklahoma’s Taryn Kedzior was tabbed the 2021 MIAA defensive player of the Year. Kedzior anchored the Bronchos' backline that finished regular-season competition with a league-high 10 shutouts.

Kedzior and the UCO defense allowed just 75 shots on goal and 17 goals, the second-fewest in the league. The Broncho junior accounted for a team-high 1,507 minutes on the field with 18 starts. This is Kedzior’s third consecutive All-MIAA honor
Voting for the MIAA goalkeeper of the year award ended in a tie between UCM’s Lindsey Johnson and UCO’s Kaitlyn Asher.
Asher started all 18 games in the net for the Bronchos for a total of 1,4030 minutes played. She ranked second in the league with just 15 goals allowed for a .944 goals against average. The Bronchos senior also ranked second in the MIAA with six shoutouts while her .805 save percentage ranked fourth. This is Asher’s second All-MIAA recognition.
Senior keeper Johnson helped the Jennies to their second consecutive regular-season championship with a total of 74 saves in 16 games for a .779 save percentage. In 1,458 minutes of action, Johnson allowed 21 goals and secured four shutouts. This is Johnson’s second consecutive season tabbing the association’ goalkeeper of the year honor.
The 2021 MIAA freshman of the year award went to Central Missouri’s Caroline Cole. Cole has started 17 games and totaled 1,324 minutes of play. She ranks third on the UCM squad with 15 points, six goals and three assists. She’s taken 49 shots this season with 23 falling on goal. Cole shares the team-high game-winning goals with Newsom at four.
Central Missouri's Lewis Theobald and Northwest Missouri’s Marc Gordon were selected as the MIAA’s co-coaches of the year by conference coaches.

The 2021 regular-season championship is the 12th of Theobald’s career as the Jennies have claimed 12 of the last 15 regular-season titles. This is Gordon’s first coach of the year honor since taking over the Northwest program in 2018. After being voted seventh in the MIAA preseason coaches poll, Gordon led the Bearcats to a third-place finish in the MIAA and set a program record with 12 wins on the season.
The MIAA tournament begins Sunday at campus sites with the semifinal and championship rounds to be played at the highest remaining seed after the quarterfinals.


First team

Goalkeeper – Kaitlyn Asher – Central Oklahoma, Sr.
Defender – Taryn Kedzior – Central Oklahoma, Jr.
Defender – Lindsay Edmonds – Central Missouri, So.
Defender – Ashlyn Lakin – Emporia State, Jr.
Defender – Letycia Bonifacio – Northwest Missouri, Jr.
Midfielder – Caroline Cole – Central Missouri, Fr.
Midfielder – Monika McGee – Central Oklahoma, So.
Midfielder – Hannah Woolery – Emporia State, So.
Forward – Kassie Newsom – Central Missouri, Jr.
Forward – Mackenzie Dimarco – Emporia State, So.
Forward – Kaylie Rock – Northwest Missouri, So.
Forward – Sydney Leslie – Central Missouri, Fr.

Second team
Goalkeeper – Lindsey Johnson – Central Missouri, Jr.
Defender – Maria Stephens – Newman, Jr.
Defender – Isa Yanes – Central Missouri, Fr.
Defender – Elizabeth Musilek – Missouri Western, Fr.
Defender – Emily Michaelis – Washburn, So.
Midfielder – Kaili Campbell – Missouri Western, Sr.
Midfielder – Madison McKeever – Northwest Missouri, Sr.
Midfielder – Emily Hutchings – Fort Hays State, So,
Midfielder – Tera Lynch – Washburn, Sr.
Forward – Kassidy Collins – Central Oklahoma, So.
Forward – Eszter Toth – Missouri Western, Sr.
Forward – Vanessa Gonzalez – Rogers State, Fr.

Third team
Goalkeeper – Jackie Lari – Newman, Sr.
Goalkeeper – Deonna Wellbrock – Fort Hays State, Sr.
Goalkeeper – Raegan Wells – Washburn, So.
Defender – Joanie Westcoat – Emporia State, So.
Defender – Reilly Madden – Fort Hays State, Jr.
Defender – Kamari Jefferson – Northeastern State, So.
Midfielder – Aislinn Hughes – Emporia State, Jr.
Midfielder – Livy Wagner – Northeastern State, Sr.
Midfielder – Lexi Ruf – Central Missouri, Fr.
Forward – Teagan Blackburn – Northwest Missouri, So.
Forward – Khloe Schuckman – Washburn, Fr.
Forward – Callie Rucker – Northeastern State, Sr.

Honorable mention
Central Missouri: Molly Ricker – Defender; Ashleigh Martin – Forward 

Central Oklahoma: Meredith Wilson – Defender; Kylee Wickersham – Defender; Eden Jones – Midfielder; Madison Linavong – Midfielder 

Emporia State: Kailey Corr – Defender 

Missouri Southern: Riley Laver – Goalkeeper; Banner Williams – Defender; Sofia Fatino – Defender; Jori Hays – Midfielder; Maya Greenquist – Midfielder 

Missouri Western: Anna Mayer – Goalkeeper; Lillian Davis – Defender; Jaden Skinner – Midfielder 

Nebraska Kearney: Emery Mounce – Goalkeeper; Dolcie Hanlon – Defender; Lily Engeman – Defender; Kylee Moore – Midfielder; Perla Navarro – Forward 

Newman: Jordan Ashworth – Defender 

Northwest Missouri: Sydney Mueller – Defender; Sophie Cissell – Forward 

Rogers State: Brooke Amos – Midfielder; Kori Watters – Forward 

Washburn: Mattie Miano – Defender; Charlie Taylor – Midfielder

Offensive Player of the Year – Kassie Newsom – Central Missouri, Jr.

Defensive Player of the Year – Taryn Kedzior – Central Oklahoma, Jr.

Co-Goalkeeper of the Year – Kaitlyn Asher – Central Oklahoma, Sr.

Co-Goalkeeper of the Year – Lindsey Johnson – Central Missouri, Sr.

Freshman of the Year Caroline Cole – Central Missouri

Co-Coach of the Year Lewis Theobald – Central Missouri

Co-Coach of the Year – Marc Gordon – Northwest Missouri

Gold Partners

Community Partners

Gold Partners