2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee, Jim Golden

TSN to name top 100 athletes in Shawnee County...Will Nijaree Canady be on the list?

[Stanford Athletics]

Kelsey (Chipman) Stringer, speaks at Topeka Shawnee County Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

[Photo by Rex Wolf/TSN]

Bob Benoit, acceptance speech at the Topeka Shawnee County Sports Awards Hall of Fame Ceremony

{Photo Rex Wolf/TSN}

Nick Stringer, 2024 Shawnee County Sports Hall of Fame speech

[Photo Rex Wolf/TSN]

TSN to name top 100 greatest athletes in Shawnee Cty....Will Gary Woodland be on the list?

[PGA Tour]

Dan Key Rising Stars of the Week
F Slaughter D Cush
Fred Slaughter class of 2008 Dale Cushinberry class of 2008

TSN In the Know Logo

Topeka Swim Association
Click to view »



Forty-seven of Shawnee County's premier high school student-athletes from the class of 2024 will be recognized Wednesday night as part of the 19th annual Topeka Shawnee County High School Sports Awards banquet.

TopSports.news, in partnership with A-1 Lock and Key, Washburn University, Capital Label, Peggy's Tax and Accounting and the Jamie Hornbaker State Farm Insurance Agency, will host the Topeka Shawnee County Sports Awards and Hall of Fame induction ceremonies and honor Washburn's athletes of the year at the Washburn University Memorial Union (6 p.m. start).

TaylinStallbaumer2023 1Recent Seaman graduate Taylin Stallbaumer has been nominated in two seasons for the Topeka Shawnee County Sports Awards after helping the Vikings win Class 5A volleyball and basketball titles. [File photo/TSN]

MaKenzieMcDanielRoss 1Silver Lake senior Makenzie McDaniel is a nominee for the 2024 Topeka Shawnee County Sports Awards after helping the Eagles win the Class 3A state basketball title as a senior. [File photo/TSN]

BroganMeierCentennial3A Class 6A state swimming champion as a senior, Washburn Rural's Brogan Meier is a nominee for the 2024 Topeka Shawnee County Sports Awards. [File photo/TSN]

FinnDunsheeSTATTRACKSATJesse 1Hayden's Finn Dunshee (middle) was a three-time state champion in the 2024 state track championships and also helped lead the Wildcats to a Class 3A runnerup finish in football. [File photo/TSN]

TopSports.news will present awards to the top female and male athletes in the fall, winter and spring seasons, as well as overall female and male athletes of the year and the most inspirational female and male. A complete list of nominees is listed below.

To be eligible, an athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.0. Athletes were nominated by their schools' athletic directors and coaches.

In addition to the Topeka Shawnee County Sports Awards, Khloe Schuckman and Braden Rose will be honored as Washburn University Athletes of the Year and Bob Benoit, Jim Golden, Kelsey (Chipman) Stringer and Nick Stringer will be inducted as the 2024 Topeka Shawnee County Hall of Fame class.

A  committee of local media members selected the 2024 high school winners, including the selection of overall female and male athletes of the year. 


FALL FEMALE — Avery Grunert, Hayden; Kinley Porter, Rossville; Taylin Stallbaumer, Seaman; Madeline Fieger and Sarah Wehrli, Silver Lake; Amirah Gibbs, Topeka High; Addison Brooks, Topeka West; Jada Ingram, Washburn Rural.

FALL MALE — Carter Charvat, Hayden; Callen Barta, Seaman; Christian Gonzales, Shawnee Heights; Isaiah Kincade, Topeka High; Kyrece Robinson, Topeka West; JC Heim, Washburn Rural.

WINTER FEMALE — Lauren Sandstrom, Hayden; Kendra Hurla, Rossville; Taylin Stallbaumer, Seaman; Mckenna Haltom, Shawnee Heights; Makenzie McDaniel, Silver Lake; Brenna Rutschmann, Topeka West; Zoe Canfield, Washburn Rural.

WINTER MALE — Simon Everhart, Cair Paravel Latin; Cooper Colboch, Hayden; Barrett Lietz, Rossville; Rykan Carver, Shawnee Heights; Isaiah Lyons, Topeka High; Caleb Annan-Noonoo, Topeka West; Brogan Meier, Washburn Rural.

SPRING FEMALE — Katherine Keys, Cair Paravel Latin; Ava Delgado, Hayden; Kinsey Perine, Rossville; Maggie Lesmeister, Seaman; Kaibryn Kruger, Silver Lake; Avery Zimmerman, Topeka High; Rebecca Bearman, Topeka West; Hayley Legg, Washburn Rural.

SPRING MALE — Finn Dunshee, Hayden; Aaron Merritt, Seaman; Jackson Esquibel, Shawnee Heights; Nate Plankinton, Topeka High; James Maag, Topeka West; Dylan Dodge, Washburn Rural.

MOST INSPIRATIONAL FEMALE — Jill Lenherr, Hayden; Kendra Hurla, Rossville; Raely Sterling, Silver Lake; McCall Beall, Topeka High.

MOST INSPIRATIONAL MALE — Doug Peterson, Hayden; Rykan Carver and Dylan Sanchez, Shawnee Heights; Hank Stamper, Topeka High.

Gold Partners

Community Partners

Gold Partners