Ichabods' Hunter Bentley, Nuria Barrientos earn All-MIAA recognition

Rick Peterson


Washburn University senior women's basketball standout Hunter Bentley has earned All-MIAA recognition for the third time in her career, earning a second-team spot on the all-conference team released Tueday.

Bentley's teammate, junior Nuria Barrientos, received All-MIAA honorable mention in her first season at Washburn.

Bentley, a former Bishop Miege star, averages 15.5 points and 6.2 rebounds for the 11-11 Ichabods while shooting 90.1 percent from the free throw line.

HunterBentleyactionWashburn senior Hunter Bentley has earned second-team All-MIAA honors.

Bentley has cracked double figures in all but three games and has finished with 20 or more points in seven contests.

On Jan. 23, Bentley became the 24th player in Washburn program history to eclipse 1,000 career points and she currently sits No. 12 on the all-time list with 1,178 points.

Barrientos has averaged 10.6 points and 8 rebounds for Washburn this season after transferring from Idaho State. 

Barrientos has recorded seven double-doubles this season, which ranks second in the MIAA.

Emporia State sophomore Tre'Zure Jobe was selected by conference coaches as the player of the year.

Washburn opens postseason Wednesday night, traveling to Central Missouri for a quarterfinal contest in the MIAA Tournament.


First team

Nija Collier, sr., Central Missouri; Jaden Hobbs, sr., Fort Hays State; Tre'Zure Jobe, so., Emporia State; Kelsey Johnson, sr., Central Oklahoma; Whitney Randall, sr., Fort Hays State.

Second team

Elisa Backes, jr., Nebraska-Kearney; Hunter Bentley, sr., Washburn; Kaylee Damitz, jr., Pittsburg State; Tristan Gegg, jr., Pittsburg State; Olivia Nelson, fr., Central Missouri.

Third team

Brooke Carlson, jr., Nebraska-Kearney; Gracyen Holden, fr., Central Missouri; Fredricka Sheats, sr., Emporia State; Haley Simental, sr., Nebraska-Kearney; Carley Turnbull, sr., Missouri Southern

Honorable mention

Central Missouri: Gigi McAtee, sr. Central Oklahoma: Jaci Little, so., Brooke Rayner, jr. Emporia State: Ehlaina Hartman, fr.; Karsen Schultz, jr. Fort Hays State: Cydney Bergmann, jr., Olivia Hollenbeck, fr. Lincoln: Niyah Jackson, so. Missouri Southern: Madi Stokes, so. Nebraksa-Kearney: Klaire Kirsch, jr. Northeastern State: Zaria Collins, so.; Cenia Hayes, sr. Northwest Missouri: Molly Hartnett, fr.; Mallory McConkey, sr. Rogers State: Samariah Thompson, jr. Washburn: Nuria Barrientos, jr.


Cydney Bergmann, jr., Fort Hays State; Tre'Zure Jobe, so., Emporia State; Brooke Rayner, jr., Central Oklahoma; Kelsey Sanger, sr., Nebraska-Kearney; Madi Stokes, so., Missouri Southern; Morgan VanHyfte, sr., Central Missouri.

Player of the year — Tre'Zure Jobe, Emporia State

Defensive player of the year — Morgan VanHyfte, Central Missouri

Freshman of the year — Molly Hartnett, Northwest Missouri

Coach of the year — Tony Hobson, Fort Hays State

WU's Tyler Geiman repeat first-team All-MIAA selection

Rick Peterson


Washburn University star senior point guard Tyler Geiman has been named a first-team All-MIAA men's basketball selection for the second straight season while also receiving a spot on the conference's all-defensive team.

Geiman was a unanimous first-team pick by conference coaches on the 2021 team, released by the MIAA office Tuesday.

TylerGeimanWashburn star point guard Tyler Geiman has been named to the All-MIAA first team for the second straight season. [Photo courtesy of Washburn Athletics]

Manhattan product Trevor Hudgins was named the MIAA player of the year for the second straight season after leading Northwest Missouri to the regular-season conference championship.

Geiman and Hudgins were joined on the all-conference first team by Ryan Hawkins of Northwest Missouri, Cam Martin of Missouri Southern and Jared Vitztum of Fort Hays State.

In addition to Geiman, Hudgins, Hawkins and Martin were unanimous picks.

Washburn juniors Jonny Clausing and Jalen Lewis received All-MIAA honorable mention.

Geiman averages 21 points, 6.5 rebounds, 6.2 assists and 1.7 steals for the Ichabods, who take a 16-6 record into Tuesday's MIAA quarterfinal game against Rogers State.

Geiman leads the MIAA in assists and is No. 3 in scoring, No. 7 in steals and No. 8 in rebounding.

Geiman becomes the fifth Ichabod to earn multiple first-team all-MIAA honors, joining Brady Skeens, Will McNeil, Ewan Auguste and Dan Buie. 
Clausing received honorable mention for the second straight season after averaging 9.9 points and 4 rebounds in the regular season. Clausing leads the MIAA in field goal percentage at 61 percent.
Lewis earned All-MIAA honorable selection for the first time after averaging 12.5 points and hitting 54 of 110 3-point attempts this season. 


First team

Tyler Geiman, sr., Washburn; Ryan Hawkins, sr., Northwest Missouri; Trevor Hudgins, jr., Northwest Missouri; Cam Martin, sr., Missouri Southern; , Jared Vitztum – Fort Hays State, Senior.

Second team

Diego Bernard, jr., Northwest Missouri; Tyrell Carroll, jr., Missouri Western; Jumah'Ri Turner, sr., Emporia State; Isaiah Wade, sr., Central Oklahoma; Sevon Witt, so., Lincoln.

Third team

Bobby Arthur-Williams, graduate, Pittsburg State; Quinton Drayton, jr., Lincoln; Callen Haydon, jr., Central Oklahoma; Devin Pullum, sr., Rogers State;
Stan Scott, sr., Missouri Southern.

Honorable mention

Central Missouri: Cameron Hunter, sr. Central Oklahoma: Cam Givens, jr. Emporia State: Austin Downing, sr. Fort Hays State: Kaleb Hammeke, fr. Lincoln: Cam Potts, sr. Missouri Western: Caleb Bennett, jr.; Will Eames, so.; Reese Glover, so. Nebraska-Kearney: Austin Luger, sr., Jake Walker, sr. Newman: Joel Boyce, jr. Northeastern State: Trey Sampson, jr. Northwest Missouri: Luke Waters, so. Pittsburg State: Quentin Hardrict, jr. Rogers State: Darraja Parnell, sr.; Brewster Peacock, sr. Washburn: Johnny Clausing, jr.; Jalen Lewis, jr.


Diego Bernard, jr., Northwest Missouri; Tyler Carroll, jr., Missouri Western; Tyler Geiman, sr., Washburn; Ryan Hawkins, sr., Northwest Missouri; Cam Potts, sr., Lincoln.

Player of the year -- Trevor Hudgins, jr., Northwest Missouri.

Defensive player of the year -- Diego Bernard, jr., Northwest Missouri.

Freshman of the year -- Kaleb Hammeke, Fort Hays State.

Coach of the year -- Ben McCollum, Northwest Missouri.