Seven city schools have representation on the 2023 All-City girls soccer team, led by Washburn Rural with four first-team picks.

Washburn Rural (15-5-1), which won the Centennial League championship on the way to a third-place finish in the Class 6A state tournament, put seniors Hailey Beck, Addi Broxterman and Mackinly Rohn and sophomore Kate Hinck on the first team, selected by city coaches.

HaileyBeckMansoccerWashburn Rural senior Hailey Beck was a first-team All-City pick at goalkeeper. [File photo/TSN]

MackinlyRohnnew 2Senior Mackinly Rohn is one of four Washburn Rural players on the All-City soccer first team. [File photo/TSN]

KatherineKeysMiegeCair Paravel junior Katherine Keys (left) and sophomore Zahra Friess (3) have been named to the All-City soccer first team. [File photo/TSN]

RoederZimmerman 1Topeka High junior Avery Zimmerman (2) earned first-team All-City girls soccer honors for the third straight season. [File photo/TSN]

Seaman is represented on the All-City first team by junior repeat pick Elinore Stallbaumer, senior Jaycee Schumann and freshman Ava Huston while Viking coach Tim Nussbaum was named the city coach of the year after leading Seaman to a 14-2-2 record in 2023.

Hayden, which finished third in the Class 4A-1A state tournament, put seniors Briahna Barnett and Noelia Cruz on the first team after the Wildcats went 12-6-2 on the season.

Cair Paravel Latin, which posted a 16-2-1 record, put junior Katherine Keys and sophomore Zahra Friess on the first team for the second straight season while Shawnee Heights sophomore Lailah Benz is also a first-team repeat pick and is joined on the first team by senior teammate Lily Martin.

Topeka High junior Avery Zimmerman made the All-City first team for the third straight season while Topeka West senior Noelia Valezuela Alvarado rounds out the first team.


First team

Name, school                                              Class   Pos.

Briahna Barnett, Hayden                              Sr.         Midfield

Hailey Beck, Washburn Rural                       Sr.        Goalkeeper

Lailah Benz, Shawnee Heights                     So.       Defense

Addi Broxterman, Washburn Rural               Sr.         Defense

Noelia Cruz, Hayden                                     Sr.         Defense

Zahra Friess, Cair Paravel                            So.        Forward

Kate Hinck, Washburn Rural                         So.        Forward

Ava Huston, Seaman                                    Fr.         Midfield

Katherine Keys, Cair Paravel               .        Jr.         Forward

Lily Martin, Shawnee Heights                        Sr.         Midfield

Mackinly Rohn, Washburn Rural                   Sr.         Midfield

Jaycee Schumann, Seaman                          Sr.        Forward

Elinore Stallbaumer, Seaman                        Jr.         Defense

Noelia Valenzuela Alvarado, Topeka West     Sr.        Midfield

Avery Zimmerman, Topeka High                    Jr.        Midfield

Honorable mention

Cair Paravel Latin: Trinity Childs, jr.; Sawyer Schwartz, so. Hayden: Carsyn Broxterman, fr.; Jill Lenherr, jr. Highland Park: Dana Chavarria Delacruz, fr.; Ruby Hernandez, sr.; Zuly Hernandez, sr. Seaman: Maegan Mills, jr.; Brooklyn Yingling, sr. Topeka High: Molly McGuire, sr. Topeka West: Gloria Bolze, sr. Washburn Rural: Brooklyn DeLeye, sr.; Emma Wong, fr.

Coach of the year -- Tim Nussbaum, Seaman.

Gold Partners

Community Partners

Gold Partners