By Rick Peterson

Highland Park, which posted a third-place finish in the Class 5A state basketball tournament, dominated voting for the All-Meadowlark Conference boys basketball team, led by junior conference player of the year Ja'Corey Robinson.

JaCoreyRobinsonAndover 1Highland Park junior Ja'Corey Robinson has been named the Meadowlark Conference player of the year after helping lead the Scots to a 23-2 record and a third-place finish in Class 5A. [Photo by Selena Favela/Special to TSN]

Robinson helped lead the Scots to an undefeated record in the conference and a 23-2 record overall, with Highland Park's lone losses coming against fourth-place 6A state finisher Wichita Northwest and 5A state champion Kapaun Mt. Carmel, which took a 67-64 overtime win over Hi Park in Friday's state semifinal.

MikeyWilliamsAndover 2Highland Park junior Mikey Williams received a first-team spot on the All-Meadowlark Conference team and was also named the conference defensive player of the year. [Photo by Selena Favela/Special to TSN]

TamirAndersonSumner 1Highland Park senior Tamir Anderson received first-team All-Meadowlark Conference recognition after helping lead the Scots to a 23-2 record and a third-place finish in Class 5A. [File photo/TSN]

Robinson is joined on the All-Meadowlark first team by junior Mikey Williams and senior Tamir Anderson, with Williams also being named the defensive player of the year.

MikeWilliamsState 2Highland Park coach Mike Williams, who has led the Scots to a 47-3 record over the past two seasons, was named the Meadowlark Conference coach of the year. [Photo by Mac Moore/KSHSAA Covered]

Highland Park coach Mike Williams was named the Meadowlark coach of the year.

Highland Park senior Amari Taylor was named to the all-conference second team while junior Jamon Wilson received honorable mention.


First team

Jacorey Robinson, Highland Park; Mikey Williams, Highland Park; Jeter Purdy, Atchison; J’Veaun Williams, KC-Washington; Tamir Anderson, Highland Park.

Second team

Xiomar Hernandez, Atchison; Jaxon Davis, KC-Sumner Academy; Kamari Murray, KC-Wyandotte; Trey Carter, Atchison; Amari Taylor, Highland Park.

Honorable mention

Ronnie Bush, KC-Schlagle; Pierson Miller, KC-Schlagle; Eric Smith III, Atchison; Quintayvion Pike, KC-Wyandotte; Damon Alexander, KC-Washington; Jamari Williams, KC-Washington; Vincent Wing, KC-Sumner Academy; Jayden Gordon, KC-Sumner Academy; Jackson Williams, KC-Harmon; Jamon Wilson, Highland Park.

Player of the year -- Ja'Corey Robinson, Highland Park.

Newcomer of the year --  Jaxon Davis, KC-Sumner Academy.

Coach of the year -- Mike Williams, Highland Park.

Defensive player of the year -- Mikey Williams, Highland Park.



Gold Partners

Community Partners

Gold Partners