A whopping four local wrestlers garnered individual state titles in the 2024 state meet and that championship quartet headlines the 2024 All-Shawnee County boys wrestling team.

EastonBroxtermanStatefinal 2Washburn Rural junior 132-pounder Easton Broxterman has been named the Shawnee County boys wrestler of the year after winning his second straight Class 6A state title. [Photo by Selena Favela/Special to TSN]

Washburn Rural junior 132-pounder Easton Broxterman was named the Shawnee County wrestler of the year after earning his second straight Class 6A state championship in his third straight trip to the state finals.

KristjanMarshallStatefinal 4Washburn Rural junior Kristjan Marshall has his hand raised as the 150-pound Class 6A state champion. [Photo by Selena Favela/Special to TSN]

BrodyByrneStatefinal 1Washburn Rural senior Brody Byrne (right) won the Class 6A 157-pound state title. [Photo by Selena Favela/Special to TSN]

Broxterman, who went 49-1 on the season, was joined on top of the 6A awards stand by junior 150-pounder Kristjan Marshall (39-4) and senior 157-pounder Brody Byrne (37-3), who both won their first state titles after posting fourth-place finishes in 2023.

RykanCarverStatefinal 2Shawnee Heights senior 285-pounder Rykan Carver won a Class 5A state title in his final state meet, taking a 4-3 overtime decision in the championship match. [Photo by Selena Favela/Special to TSN]

Shawnee Heights senior Rykan Carver (38-8) capped his high school career with a bang, winning the 5A state 285-pound championship in overtime to capture his first state medal.

JoshHoganStatefinal 1Washburn Rural wrestling coach Josh Hogan has been named the Shawnee County coach of the year after three Rural wrestlers won state titles and finished third as a team. [Photo by Selena Favela/Special to TSN]

Washburn Rural, which finished a close third in the 6A team standings, put a county-high eight wrestlers on the all-county first team, while Rural's Josh Hogan was named the county coach of the year and freshman 144-pounder Brodye Kocher-Munoz was selected as newcomer of the year.

The all-county team is based in part on selections made by the seven Topeka head coaches as well as at large selections for county schools Rossville and Silver Lake.

Also earning All-Shawnee County first-team honors for Rural in addition to the three state champions were sophomore 106-pounder Ryder Harrison (17-14), junior 120-pounder Walker Doyal (27-23), sophomore 126-pounder Cooper Stivers (11-5), sophomore 138-pounder Landen Kocher-Munoz (36-5) and senior 165-pounder Chase Calhoon (28-15).

Seaman and Shawnee Heights both put three wrestlers on the All-Shawnee County first team.

Seaman is represented by 144-pound senior Colin Little (40-10), 190-pound junior Deyton Mentzer (24-12) and 215-pound senior Hunter Reno (44-12) while Heights is represented by Carver, 138-pound senior Andrew Bonebrake (34-8) and 175-pound senior Allen Baughman (30-8). 

Bonebrake and Baughman are both first-team repeat picks.

Rossville is represented on the first team by Class 3A-1A 215-pound senior state runnerup Barret Lietz (36-9) while Topeka High put 113-pound sophomore Luis Morones (19-10) on the first team.


First team

Name, school                                         Class  Wt.

Allen Baughman, Shawnee Heights          Sr.     175

Andrew Bonebrake, Shawnee Heights      Sr.     138

Easton Broxterman, Washburn Rural         Jr.     132

Brody Byrne, Washburn Rural                   Sr.     157

Chase Calhoon, Washburn Rural               Sr.    165

Rykan Carver, Shawnee Heights                Sr.    285

Walker Doyal, Washburn Rural                  Jr.     120

Ryder Harrison, Washburn Rural               So.    106

Landen Kocher-Munoz, Washburn Rural   So.   138

Barret Lietz, Rossville                                  Sr.    215

Colin Little, Seaman                                   Sr.    144

Kristjan Marshall, Washburn Rural             Jr.    150

Deyton Mentzer, Seaman                          Jr.     190

Luis Morones, Topeka High                       So.   113

Hunter Reno, Seaman                                Sr.    215

Cooper Stivers, Washburn Rural                So.   126

Second team

Name, school                                         Class  Wt.

Jadyn Baum, Washburn Rural                    Fr.     175

Brody Brown, Shawnee Heights                 Fr.    126

Tristan Buce, Shawnee Heights                  So.   106

Hunter Diederich, Hayden                         Jr.     285

Elijah Elliot, Topeka High                            Sr.    120

Nathan Hurla, Shawnee Heights                Sr.    190

Detrick Johnson, Topeka High                   Jr.      215

Evan Johnson, Shawnee Heights                So.   157

Brodye Kocher-Munoz, Washburn Rural    Fr.    144

Jacob Reyes, Shawnee Heights                  Fr.    113

Samson Tootle, Seaman                             Jr.     165

Michael Weatherly, Topeka High               So.    132

Rehabiah Williamson, Topeka High           So.    150

Honorable mention

Cair Paravel: Jacob Waldy, so. Hayden: Broderick Desch, jr.; Tyler Hopper, so.; Yanni Jimenez, so.; Jude Krentz, so.; Caleb Menke, fr.; Matthew Samich, jr. Highland Park: Reign Baggett, sr.; Adrian Burney, jr.; Jordan De La Torre, sr.; Cortez Johnson, jr.; Jayden Kelso, jr.; Samuel Portlock, so.; Decon Rice, jr.; Philiciano Rice, so. Seaman: Gabe Brannick, jr.; Deegan Frazier, fr.; Aaron Haynes, fr.; Maddox Malone, fr.; Michael McCullough, fr.; Henry Reichart, fr.; Ross Shipley, fr. Shawnee Heights: Carson Anderson, jr.; Gavin Hartman, so.; Christian Labrador, fr. Emilio Morgan, so. Noah Neil, fr.; Kael Westgate, jr. Silver Lake: Bryce Cormier, so.; Trent Harris, jr.; Garrett Holmes, so.; Blake Redmond, sr.; Blake Rodenbaugh, sr. Topeka High: Raul Arriola, sr.; Brandon Blancas, so.; Nick Davis, jr.; Jesus Morales, so.; Jordan Stiner, so. Topeka West: Kyren Padilla, sr.; Vince Redmond, sr. Washburn Rural: Baron Blankenship, jr.; Brody Haas, so.; Nathan Miller, sr.

Wrestler of the year -- Easton Broxterman, Washburn Rural.

Newcomer of the year -- Brodye Kocher-Munoz, Washburn Rural.

Coach of the year -- Josh Hogan, Washburn Rural.




Gold Partners

Community Partners

Gold Partners