2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee, Jim Golden

TSN to name top 100 athletes in Shawnee County...Will Nijaree Canady be on the list?

[Stanford Athletics]

2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee, Kelsey Chipman

[File Photo by /TSN

Bob Benoit, 2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee

Nick Stringer, 2024 Shawnee County Hall of Fame inductee

TSN to name top 100 greatest athletes in Shawnee Cty....Will Gary Woodland be on the list?

[PGA Tour]

Dan Key Rising Stars of the Week
JimGoldenHOF 10 NickStringerHOF 5
Jim Golden Nick Stringer

TSN In the Know Logo

Topeka Swim Association
Click to view »
Rick Peterson, Top Sports News Writer
Rick Peterson


Washburn Rural, which posted a runner-up finish in the Class 6A state tournament, put a city-high four players on the 2021 All-City boys soccer team, selected by city coaches.

Rural is represented by seniors Wyatt Arnold (goalkeeper), Mason Grogan (defense), Joe Morse (midfield) and Porter Schafersman (forward), while Junior Blues coach Brian Hensyel was named the city coach of the year.

WyattArnoldmugWyatt Arnold

MasonGroganmugMason Grogan

JoeMorsemugJoe Morse

PorterSchafersmanPorter Schafersman

Hayden, a quarterfinalist in 4A-1A, put junior Jake Muller (forward) and senior Nick Padilla (midfield) on the All-City team while Seaman is represented by seniors Kyson Evans (midfield/defense) and Gavin Wilhelm (midfield/defense) and Shawnee Heights by senior David Skinner (defense) and junior Isaac Wilson (midfield).

JakeMullerJake Muller

KysonEvansmugKyson Evans

David SkinnerDavid Skinner

Senior Ethan Everhart (forward/midfield) earned first-team honors for Cair Paravel Latin while Highland Park is represented by junior Vellamy Diaz (forward), Topeka High by senior Sergio Ramirez (midfield) and Topeka West by junior Jack Snyder (defense). 

SergioRamirezSergio Ramirez

Arnold and Padilla are both All-City first-team repeat picks while Everhart, Muller, Evans, Skinner, Ramirez and Schafersman moved up to the first team after earning honorable mention a year ago.

Hensyel was selected as the city coach of the year after leading the Junior Blues to a 19-1 record, including a 27th straight Centennial League championship (outright or shared).


First team

Name, school                                                Class     Pos.

Wyatt Arnold, Washburn Rural                         Sr.          Goalkeeper

Vellamy Diaz, Highland Park                            Jr.          Forward

Kyson Evans, Seaman                                     Sr.          Midfield/Defense

Ethan Everhart, Cair Paravel                           Sr.          Forward/Midfield

Mason Grogan, Washburn Rural                      Sr.          Defense

Joe Morse, Washburn Rural                             Sr.          Midfield

Jake Muller, Hayden                                         Jr.           Forward

Nick Padilla, Hayden                                        Sr.           Midfield

Sergio Ramirez, Topeka High                           Sr.           Midfield

Porter Schafersman, Washburn Rural              Sr.           Forward

David Skinner, Shawnee Heights                      Sr.           Defense

Jack Snyder, Topeka West                                Jr.            Defense

Gavin Wilhelm, Seaman                                    Sr.           Midfield/Defense

Isaac Wilson, Shawnee Heights                        Jr.             Midfield

Honorable mention

Cair Paravel: Levi Will, sr. Hayden: Tyler Broxterman, sr.; Chris Hayes, jr.; Gabe Rankey, sr.; Michael Sandstrom, sr. Highland Park: Estevan Aguirre, so. Seaman: Pablo Font, sr.; Ayden Thompson, jr. Shawnee Heights: Jordan Garvin, jr.; Garrison Johnson, sr.; Jack Martin, so. Topeka High: Zaka Blocker, sr.; Chris Brown, fr.; Aidan Morrison, jr.; Alexis Salas-Garcia, jr. Washburn Rural: Easton Bradstreet, jr.; Devon Rutschmann, so.       

Coach of the year -- Brian Hensyel, Washburn Rural.

Gold Partners

Community Partners

Gold Partners