Washburn University senior women's basketball standout Hunter Bentley has earned All-MIAA recognition for the third time in her career, earning a second-team spot on the all-conference team released Tueday.

Bentley's teammate, junior Nuria Barrientos, received All-MIAA honorable mention in her first season at Washburn.

Bentley, a former Bishop Miege star, averages 15.5 points and 6.2 rebounds for the 11-11 Ichabods while shooting 90.1 percent from the free throw line.

HunterBentleyactionWashburn senior Hunter Bentley has earned second-team All-MIAA honors.

Bentley has cracked double figures in all but three games and has finished with 20 or more points in seven contests.

On Jan. 23, Bentley became the 24th player in Washburn program history to eclipse 1,000 career points and she currently sits No. 12 on the all-time list with 1,178 points.

Barrientos has averaged 10.6 points and 8 rebounds for Washburn this season after transferring from Idaho State. 

Barrientos has recorded seven double-doubles this season, which ranks second in the MIAA.

Emporia State sophomore Tre'Zure Jobe was selected by conference coaches as the player of the year.

Washburn opens postseason Wednesday night, traveling to Central Missouri for a quarterfinal contest in the MIAA Tournament.


First team

Nija Collier, sr., Central Missouri; Jaden Hobbs, sr., Fort Hays State; Tre'Zure Jobe, so., Emporia State; Kelsey Johnson, sr., Central Oklahoma; Whitney Randall, sr., Fort Hays State.

Second team

Elisa Backes, jr., Nebraska-Kearney; Hunter Bentley, sr., Washburn; Kaylee Damitz, jr., Pittsburg State; Tristan Gegg, jr., Pittsburg State; Olivia Nelson, fr., Central Missouri.

Third team

Brooke Carlson, jr., Nebraska-Kearney; Gracyen Holden, fr., Central Missouri; Fredricka Sheats, sr., Emporia State; Haley Simental, sr., Nebraska-Kearney; Carley Turnbull, sr., Missouri Southern

Honorable mention

Central Missouri: Gigi McAtee, sr. Central Oklahoma: Jaci Little, so., Brooke Rayner, jr. Emporia State: Ehlaina Hartman, fr.; Karsen Schultz, jr. Fort Hays State: Cydney Bergmann, jr., Olivia Hollenbeck, fr. Lincoln: Niyah Jackson, so. Missouri Southern: Madi Stokes, so. Nebraksa-Kearney: Klaire Kirsch, jr. Northeastern State: Zaria Collins, so.; Cenia Hayes, sr. Northwest Missouri: Molly Hartnett, fr.; Mallory McConkey, sr. Rogers State: Samariah Thompson, jr. Washburn: Nuria Barrientos, jr.


Cydney Bergmann, jr., Fort Hays State; Tre'Zure Jobe, so., Emporia State; Brooke Rayner, jr., Central Oklahoma; Kelsey Sanger, sr., Nebraska-Kearney; Madi Stokes, so., Missouri Southern; Morgan VanHyfte, sr., Central Missouri.

Player of the year — Tre'Zure Jobe, Emporia State

Defensive player of the year — Morgan VanHyfte, Central Missouri

Freshman of the year — Molly Hartnett, Northwest Missouri

Coach of the year — Tony Hobson, Fort Hays State

TSN presents “In the Know”

TSN In the Know Logo

Water/pool safety, lessons, and activities with the Topeka Swim Association. 


click video tab     
A1 Lock Key Logo

Key perfomers of the week

FinnDunshee2023 2PaytonFink2023mug 1JaydenMoore2023mug
RyekiTuley2023mug 2SamVanDynemug 2RaeganWells2023mug 2
Dan Key Rising Stars of the Week

LaurenBorjon2023mug 2SQ

BrodyAndersonmug 1SQ

Lauren Borjon Brody Anderson

TSN Video Podcast