Washburn University star senior point guard Tyler Geiman has been named a first-team All-MIAA men's basketball selection for the second straight season while also receiving a spot on the conference's all-defensive team.

Geiman was a unanimous first-team pick by conference coaches on the 2021 team, released by the MIAA office Tuesday.

TylerGeimanWashburn star point guard Tyler Geiman has been named to the All-MIAA first team for the second straight season. [Photo courtesy of Washburn Athletics]

Manhattan product Trevor Hudgins was named the MIAA player of the year for the second straight season after leading Northwest Missouri to the regular-season conference championship.

Geiman and Hudgins were joined on the all-conference first team by Ryan Hawkins of Northwest Missouri, Cam Martin of Missouri Southern and Jared Vitztum of Fort Hays State.

In addition to Geiman, Hudgins, Hawkins and Martin were unanimous picks.

Washburn juniors Jonny Clausing and Jalen Lewis received All-MIAA honorable mention.

Geiman averages 21 points, 6.5 rebounds, 6.2 assists and 1.7 steals for the Ichabods, who take a 16-6 record into Tuesday's MIAA quarterfinal game against Rogers State.

Geiman leads the MIAA in assists and is No. 3 in scoring, No. 7 in steals and No. 8 in rebounding.

Geiman becomes the fifth Ichabod to earn multiple first-team all-MIAA honors, joining Brady Skeens, Will McNeil, Ewan Auguste and Dan Buie. 
Clausing received honorable mention for the second straight season after averaging 9.9 points and 4 rebounds in the regular season. Clausing leads the MIAA in field goal percentage at 61 percent.
Lewis earned All-MIAA honorable selection for the first time after averaging 12.5 points and hitting 54 of 110 3-point attempts this season. 


First team

Tyler Geiman, sr., Washburn; Ryan Hawkins, sr., Northwest Missouri; Trevor Hudgins, jr., Northwest Missouri; Cam Martin, sr., Missouri Southern; , Jared Vitztum – Fort Hays State, Senior.

Second team

Diego Bernard, jr., Northwest Missouri; Tyrell Carroll, jr., Missouri Western; Jumah'Ri Turner, sr., Emporia State; Isaiah Wade, sr., Central Oklahoma; Sevon Witt, so., Lincoln.

Third team

Bobby Arthur-Williams, graduate, Pittsburg State; Quinton Drayton, jr., Lincoln; Callen Haydon, jr., Central Oklahoma; Devin Pullum, sr., Rogers State;
Stan Scott, sr., Missouri Southern.

Honorable mention

Central Missouri: Cameron Hunter, sr. Central Oklahoma: Cam Givens, jr. Emporia State: Austin Downing, sr. Fort Hays State: Kaleb Hammeke, fr. Lincoln: Cam Potts, sr. Missouri Western: Caleb Bennett, jr.; Will Eames, so.; Reese Glover, so. Nebraska-Kearney: Austin Luger, sr., Jake Walker, sr. Newman: Joel Boyce, jr. Northeastern State: Trey Sampson, jr. Northwest Missouri: Luke Waters, so. Pittsburg State: Quentin Hardrict, jr. Rogers State: Darraja Parnell, sr.; Brewster Peacock, sr. Washburn: Johnny Clausing, jr.; Jalen Lewis, jr.


Diego Bernard, jr., Northwest Missouri; Tyler Carroll, jr., Missouri Western; Tyler Geiman, sr., Washburn; Ryan Hawkins, sr., Northwest Missouri; Cam Potts, sr., Lincoln.

Player of the year -- Trevor Hudgins, jr., Northwest Missouri.

Defensive player of the year -- Diego Bernard, jr., Northwest Missouri.

Freshman of the year -- Kaleb Hammeke, Fort Hays State.

Coach of the year -- Ben McCollum, Northwest Missouri.



TSN presents “In the Know”

TSN In the Know Logo

Water/pool safety, lessons, and activities with the Topeka Swim Association. 


click video tab     
A1 Lock Key Logo

Key perfomers of the week

FinnDunshee2023 2PaytonFink2023mug 1JaydenMoore2023mug
RyekiTuley2023mug 2SamVanDynemug 2RaeganWells2023mug 2
Dan Key Rising Stars of the Week

LaurenBorjon2023mug 2SQ

BrodyAndersonmug 1SQ

Lauren Borjon Brody Anderson

TSN Video Podcast