TopSports.News, in partnership with the University of Kansas Health System St Francis Campus, A-1 Lock and Key and Washburn University, will host the 18th annual Topeka Shawnee County Sports Awards/Hall of Fame induction ceremony on June 28, 2023 at Washburn's Memorial Union.

For the third straight year will serve as host for the Sports Awards/Hall of Fame banquet, a longstanding tradition for the Topeka and Shawnee County sports community.

The ceremony will highlight Shawnee County high school senior student-athletes’ achievements throughout the 2022-2023 school year along with the induction of the 2023 Topeka Shawnee County Hall of Fame Class.

b card logo 2

Schools have been asked to submit nominees with a minimum 3.0 cumulative grade point average for both female and male candidates for the fall, winter and spring seasons as well as nominees for most inspirational athlete. Over-all outstanding male and female athletes for 2022-2023 will also be named.

Also recognized will be an outstanding female and male athlete from Washburn University.

The four-member 2023 Hall of Fame class and the '23 Washburn University Athletes of the Year will be announced on on May 1.

The high school nominees for the 10 Shawnee County high schools will be announced in June after the conclusion of the spring sports season.

 A  committee of local media members will select the 2023 winners, including the selection of overall female and male athletes of the year.

Again this year TSN will present the Topeka Officials Association award spotlighting the dedication and contribution of men and women who are integral to high school athletics.

The June 28 event kicks off in the Memorial Union with a Hall of Fame reception at 5 p.m., followed by dinner at 6 p.m. and the presentation of awards.

Each nominee will receive a complimentary ticket.

Tickets will go on sale on May 2. Tickets are $30 per person, prior to June 19, 2023, and $35 per person from June 19-22 (ticket sales end June 22). Tickets include dinner.

For more information or to purchase tickets go to or call 785-633-8448 

The 2022Hall of Fame class included former Kansas City Royals All-Star pitcher Aaron Crow, former Iowa State and longtime professional volleyball player Kaylee Manns and Dani (McHenry) Schmidt, a Washburn University Hall of Famerr.

Crow and Manns are Washburn Rural graduates and Schmidt a Shawnee Heights grad.

Topeka High's NiJaree Canady and Hayden's Tanner Newkirk were named outstanding female and male high school athletes in 2022.

Canady is now playing softball at Stanford while Newkirk is running track and cross country at Kansas.

Family Service and Guidance Center presents “In the Know”

TSN In the Know Logo

Youth Suicide Prevention:            What Parents Need to Know

click video tab
A1 Lock Key Logo

Key perfomers of the week

JacksonEsquibelnewmugJakeMullermug4TreRichardsonBBmug 2

ChrisBarnes3 002


2023 Hall of Fame inductee Chris Barnes 2017 Hall of Fame inductee Gary Woodland

TSN Video Podcast