By Rick Peterson

Washburn Rural senior Brooklyn DeLeye has been named the Centennial League girls basketball player of the year after helping lead the Junior Blues to the league championship and a runnerup finish in the Class 6A state tournament.

BrooklynDeLeyeBVNWashburn Rural senior Brooklyn DeLeye has been named the Centennial League basketball player of the year after also earning that honor in volleyball. [File photo/TSN]

DeLeye averaged 16 points, 9.3 rebounds and 2.1 steals, shot 59.7 percent from 2-point range and 38.5 percent on 3-point attempts as a senior.

DeLeye, 6-foot-2, is one of three city players earning spots on the all-league first team, with Topeka High senior Kiki Smith (5-8) and Hayden junior Lauren Sandstrom (6-0) also earning all-league recognition.

KikiSmithWRTopeka High senior Kiki Smith is a repeat pick on the All-Centennial League basketball team after leading the Trojans to a 16-6 record. [File photo/TSN]

LaurenSandstromEmp2Hayden junior Lauren Sandstrom earned a spot on the All-Centennial League first team after helping the Wildcats reach the Class 4A state tournament. [File photo/TSN]

Smith averaged a city-high 20.4 points, 4.9 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 3.1 steals while connecting on 50 3-pointers.

Sandstrom, who helped lead Hayden to a 4A state tournament berth, averaged 13 points and six rebounds this past season.

KevinBordewickAll CountyWashburn Rural's Kevin Bordewick has been named the Centennial League coach of the year after leading Rural to the league title and a second-place finish in Class 6A. [File photo/TSN]

Washburn Rural's Kevin Bordewick was named the Centennial League coach of the year after leading the Junior Blues to an 18-6 record and the team's third top-two state finish since 2019, including titles in '19 and '22.

Topeka High freshman Keimara Marshall (5-3) was voted the league newcomer of the year by Centennial coaches after playing a key role in the Trojans' 16-6 season.

Washburn Rural seniors Chloe Carlgren (6-0) and MaRyah Lutz (5-5) were named to the all-league second team along with Topeka High junior Ladaysha Baird (5-3) and Hayden sophomore Brylee Meier (6-0).

Seven city players earned all-league honorable mention.  


First team

Brooklyn DeLeye, 6-2 sr., Washburn Rural; Rebecca Snyder, 6-0 sr., Emporia; Kiki Smith, 5-8 sr., Topeka High; Lauren Sandstrom, 6-0 jr., Hayden; Avery Larson, 5-8 sr., Manhattan; Addie Kirmer, 5-7 jr., Emporia.

Second team

Chloe Carlgren, 6-0 sr., Washburn Rural; MaRyah Lutz, 5-5 sr., Washburn Rural; Ladaysha Baird, 5-3 jr., Topeka High; Destiny Yates, 5-5 sr., Manhattan; Brylee Meier, 6-0 so., Hayden; Lexsey DeWitt, jr.

Honorable mention

Mariah Jeter, 5-5 sr., Junction City; Norma Greco, 5-6 so., Hayden; Ayana Leesman, 5-3 jr., Topeka High; Kate Hinck, 5-4 so., Washburn Rural; Alexa Shivley, 5-6 jr., Emporia; Ava Deguzman, 5-8 sr., Junction City; Amyah O'Neal, 5-4 jr., Junction City; Kaliya Fulton, 5-6 so., Hayden; Paige Chauncey, 5-11 sr., Manhattan; Tenly Bunck, 5-5 so., Washburn Rural; Adisyn Caryl, 5-10 sr., Topeka High; Keimara Marshall, 5-3 fr., Topeka High.

Player of the year -- Brooklyn DeLeye, Washburn Rural.

Newcomer of the year -- Keimara Marshall, Topeka High.

Coach of the year -- Kevin Bordewick, Washburn Rural.


Family Service and Guidance Center presents “In the Know”

TSN In the Know Logo

Youth Suicide Prevention:            What Parents Need to Know

click video tab
A1 Lock Key Logo

Key perfomers of the week

JacksonEsquibelnewmugJakeMullermug4TreRichardsonBBmug 2

ChrisBarnes3 002


2023 Hall of Fame inductee Chris Barnes 2017 Hall of Fame inductee Gary Woodland

TSN Video Podcast