Three-time state individual champion Kendra Hurla of Rossville and three-time team champ and four-time state medalist Addi Broxterman of Washburn Rural headine the 2023 All-Shawnee County girls wrestling team.





Broxterman and Hurla were named the Shawnee County co-wrestlers of the year after Broxterman, a senior, helped Rural win its third Class 6A-5A state championship in four seasons while junior Hurla won her third straight Class 4A-1A 120-pound championship. 

Broxterman, 45-4, placed third at state this past season ater back-to-back second-place finishes while Hurla won her third state title with a 9-5 decision over Columbus' Addison Saporito, capping a 27-1 season for the Bulldawgs, who finished second in the 4A-1A team standings.

The all-county team is based in part on selections made by the seven Topeka head coaches as well as at large selections for county schools Rossville and Silver Lake.

Washburn Rural, which won the 6A-5A team title by a 153-141 margin over Garden City, put a county-high eight wrestlers on the first team.

In addition to Broxterman, Washburn Rural is represented by sophomore 100-pounder Molly Spader (36-7), junior 105-pounder Kristen Rezac (36-6), sophomore 115-pounder Maddy Blow (29-14), sophomore 120-pounder Annie Gallegos (36-14), sophomore 145-pounder Madison Davison (26-14), sophomore 155-pounder Ashley Schwarz (32-12) and junior 170-pounder TaAni Rhoten (23-9).

Rezac placed third at state while Gallegos, Davison and Schwarz posted fourth-place finishes and Spader finished fifth.

Washburn Rural coach Damon Parker, who has led the Junior Blues to three state titles and a runnerup finish in the four years since girls wrestling became an official Kansas State High School Activities Association sport, was selected as the Shawnee County coach of the year while Schwarz was named the county newcomer of the year.

Hurla is one of three Rossville wrestlers on the TSN All-Shawnee County first team after the Bulldawgs placed second in the 4A-1A team standings.



Junior Keera Lacock (33-2) advanced to the 4A-1A championship match at 115 pounds en route to a runnerup finish while junior Hailey Horton (32-7) finished third at 155 pounds.



Seaman also put three wrestlers on the all-county first team, led by sophomore Koti Best, who finished second at state in the 130-pound division to finish off a 36-6 season.

Joining Best on the first team for the Vikings are sophomore 110-pounder Taylie Heston (29-7) and senior 140-pounder Kaidence Heston (28-12). K. Heston finished sixth at state. 

Shawnee Heights, which was the highest placing 5A school in the 6A-5A state tournament for the second straight season with a fourth-place finish, is represented on the first team by sophomore 135-pounder Madison Freeland (32-7) and senior 190-pounder Lilly Blair (20-11).



Freeland was the 6A-5A runnerup in the 135-pound division.

Topeka West junior Tristyn Johnson made the first team at 235 pounds for the second straight season after posting a third-place state finish in 6A-5A. Johnson placed fifth at state as a sophomore.


First team

Koti Best, so., Seaman; Lilly Blair, sr., Shawnee Heights; Maddy Blow, so., Washburn Rural; Addi Broxterman, sr., Washburn Rural; Madison Davison, so., Washburn Rural; Madison Freeland, so., Shawnee Heights; Annie Gallegos, so., Washburn Rural; Kaidence Heston, sr., Seaman; Taylie Heston, so, Seaman; Hailey Horton, jr., Rossville; Kendra Hurla, jr., Rossville; Tristyn Johnson, jr., Topeka West; Keera Lacock, jr., Rossville; Kristen Rezac, jr., Washburn Rural; TaAni Rhoten, jr., Washburn Rural; Ashley Schwarz, so., Washburn Rural; Molly Spader, so., Washburn Rural; 

Second team

Connie Burns, fr., Shawnee Heights; Molly Busenitz, sr., Shawnee Heights; Laiken Clark, jr., Washburn Rural; Fatima Escobar, jr., Washburn Rural; Alexis Fredrickson, sr., Washburn Rural; Cianna Graves, fr., Shawnee Heights; McKenna Haltom, jr., Shawnee Heights; Kylisha James, so., Highland Park; Nevaiah Martin, jr., Topeka High; Sophie Ross, jr., Washburn Rural; Odessa Schmidt, jr., Shawnee Heights; Natalie Smith, so., Seaman; Reece Taylor, so., Shawnee Heights; Reagan Wonnell, sr., Rossville; Marilena Zuniga, sr., Topeka High.

Honorable mention

Hayden: Elaina Wolff, jr. Highland Park: Makayla Cadet, fr.; Ruby Hernandez, sr.; Victoria Leach, jr.; Kim Rodriguez, so. Seaman: Ellie Ayres, jr.; Madison Murray, jr.; Makenna Stuke, fr. Shawnee Heights: Addison Cooper, fr.; Theo Ofuasia, fr.; Emberlynn Phillips, jr.; Isabel Reyes, so.; Hannah Sixkiller, sr. Silver Lake: Karley Holmes, so. Topeka High: Alesia Alvarez, sr.; Ingrid Cabrera, so.; Zoe Dawkins, so. Topeka West: Dadriona Anderson, jr.; Nephtail Lenth, jr. Washburn Rural: Emme Blanco, fr.; Madison Blanco, fr.; Raya Eilert, jr.; Emily Funk, jr.; Delaney Hill, so.; Gabby Littrell, jr; Ammi Miller, sr.; Maddie O'Brien, jr.; Autumn Sanchez, jr.; Ella Smith, fr.

Co-wrestlers of the year -- Addi Broxterman, Washburn Rural, and Kendra Hurla, Rossville.

Newcomer of the year -- Ashley Schwarz, Washburn Rural.

Coaches of the year -- Damon Parker, Washburn Rura...



Family Service and Guidance Center presents “In the Know”

TSN In the Know Logo

Youth Suicide Prevention:            What Parents Need to Know

click video tab
A1 Lock Key Logo

Key perfomers of the week

JacksonEsquibelnewmugJakeMullermug4TreRichardsonBBmug 2

ChrisBarnes3 002


2023 Hall of Fame inductee Chris Barnes 2017 Hall of Fame inductee Gary Woodland

TSN Video Podcast