By Rick Peterson

Nine city players have earned All-United Kansas Conference boys basketball recognition, including first-team picks Aron Davis of Seaman, Brennon Dodge of Shawnee Heights and Xavier Alexander of Topeka West.

AronDavisdunk 3Seaman senior Aron Davis has been named to the All-UKC first team after helping lead the Vikings to a 13-8 record. [File photo/TSN]

XavierAlexanderTurTopeka West senior Xavier Alexander earned All-UKC first-team honors after helping the Chargers go 14-8 on the 2022-2023 season. [File photo/TSN]

BrennonDodgeTWBrennon Dodge, a Shawnee Heights junior, has been named to the All-UKC first team by conference coaches after helping the T-Birds go 15-7 on the season.[File photo/TSN]

Davis and Alexander are both seniors and Dodge a junior.

Seaman senior Kaeden Bonner, Topeka West senior Malachi Berg and Shawnee Heights sophomore Jaret Sanchez all earned second-team All-UKC honors while Shawnee Heights seniors Jeremyah Kendrick and Q Stovall and Seaman freshman KaeVon Bonner received honorable mention.

De Soto junior David Cobin was voted the UKC player of the year by league coaches while Wildcat coach Matt Rice was named the coach of the year.

Washburn signee Tyson Ruud of Basehor-Linwood was named to the All-UKC first team.


First team

Tyson Ruud, sr., Basehor-Linwood; David Cobin, jr., De Soto; Trent Johnson, sr., De Soto; Devin Kerr, jr., Piper;  Aron Davis, sr., Seaman; Brennon Dodge, jr., Shawnee Heights; Xavier Alexander, sr., Topeka West.

Second team
Jayden Lang, so., De Soto; Jeremiah Lewis, sr., Leavenworth; DJ Jackson, fr., Piper; Kai Reid, so., Piper; Kaeden Bonner, sr., Seaman; Jaret Sanchez, so., Shawnee Heights; Malachi Berg, sr., Topeka West.
Honorable mention
Will Blankenship, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Blake Hicks, sr., De Soto; Eddie Mclaughlin, sr., Leavenworth; Gannon Roth, jr., Piper; PJ Moore, so., Piper; KaeVon Bonner, fr., Seaman; Jeremyah Kendrick, sr., Shawnee Heights; Q Stovall, sr., Shawnee Heights; Josiah Harris, fr., Turner.

Player of the year -- David Cobin, De Soto.

Coach of the year -- Matt Rice, De Soto.