Welcome to Top Sports News

State champs, college stars top TSN women's tennis candidates



EDITOR'S NOTE: Over the coming weeks, TopSports.news will recognize hundreds of Shawnee County's all-time greats in 25 sports/categories as part of our Best of the Best project. Readers will have the opportunity to vote through July, with the Top 25 in all categories announced in August. To cast a vote for the Best of the Best, click on: https://linkto.run/p/HUDFYLSXEmail votes/nominations will also be accepted at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


There's certainly a few names that pop out when talking about the greatest women's tennis players in Shawnee County history.

Sheri Norris was a three-time state champion for Topeka West and went on to earn All-America honors at Arizona State and play on the professional circuit while former Hayden star Brooklyn Hunter became the first city girls player and one of a select few statewide to capture four state singles championships.

Sheri Norris2Sheri Norris [Submitted]

BrooklynHunterBrooklynHunter [Lopers.com]

Madeline HillMadeline Hill [Washburn Athletics]

Madeline Hill was a state champion and four-time state placer for Washburn Rural before winning an NCAA Division II national singles championship at Washburn University while former Topeka West state champ Meg Griffin went on to earn All-ACC honors and compete in the NCAA tournament for Maryland, West product Tonna Rieger was a three-time state doubles champ, Hayden's Alex O'Neal a three-time singles champ and Morgan Dietz and Zebbie Robertson multple-time state titlists.

There are 25 candidates listed to pick from at https://linkto.run/p/HUDFYLSX while readers are encouraged to write in the names of their favorites.

Vote as many times as you wish, with the only requirement that eligible candidates must have grown up in Shawnee County or attended one of the county's 10 high schools.

Final selections will be based on reader vote as well as input from TSN contributors and current and past local sports media professionals.   

Votes will be accepted through July 31 before TSN publishes our Best of the Best lists in August.

NEXT UP: Men's tennis.

Related Stories and Videos