Welcome to Top Sports News

Best of the Best men's swimming ballot loaded with state champs



EDITOR'S NOTE: Over the coming weeks, TopSports.news will recognize hundreds of Shawnee County's all-time greats in 25 sports/categories as part of our Best of the Best project. Readers will have the opportunity to vote through July, with the Top 25 in all categories announced in August. To cast a vote for the Best of the Best, click on:  https://linkto.run/p/65AV2OBQEmail votes/nominations will also be accepted at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Former Topeka High superstar Glenn Trammel set the standard for Shawnee County's men's swimmers, winning five individual state titles from 1982-85 before going on to become a seven-time All-American at Kansas.

But while Trammel has to be on the short list of contenders to be named the top men's swimmer in county history, he has plenty of company.

Glenn TrammelGlenn Trammel [Submitted]

 John Martin SchmidtJohn Martin Schmidt [Miner Athletics]

There's former Hayden star John-Martin Schmidt, who equaled Trammel's five individual state golds, while Tyler Schmidt (Topeka High), Tyler Dobelbower (Washburn Rural), Grant Rogers (Washburn Rural) and Eddie Riddle (Seaman) all claimed four individual golds.

Other individual multple-time state champs include Jesse Gray, Dave Reynolds, Mark Homlish, Drew Warren, Tarrin Fischer and Dale Carver while Zeke Metz, Josh Florence and Cameron Stanley were key parts of the 2018 Seaman team that became the first-ever city school to claim a state team championship.

There are 25 candidates in all listed to pick from at https://linkto.run/p/65AV2OBQ while readers are encouraged to write in the names of their favorites.

Vote as many times as you wish, with the only requirement that eligible candidates must have grown up in Shawnee County or attended one of the county's 10 high schools.

Final selections will be based on reader vote as well as input from TSN contributors and current and past local sports media professionals.   

Votes will be accepted through July 31 before TSN publishes our Best of the Best lists in August.

NEXT UP: Women's tennis.

Related Stories and Videos