Welcome to Top Sports News

National champ, All-Americans head list of TSN softball candidates



EDITOR'S NOTE: Over the coming weeks, TopSports.news will recognize hundreds of Shawnee County's all-time greats in 25 sports/categories as part of our Best of the Best project. Readers will have the opportunity to vote through July, with the Top 25 in all categories announced in August. To cast a vote for the Best of the Best, click on: https://linkto.run/p/3RGD7LY9Email votes/nominations will also be accepted at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Shawnee County has long been a hotbed for outstanding fast-pitch softball players and teams, dating back to legendary women's basketball coaches Billie Jean Moore and Patty Dick, who starred for the nationally-renowed Ohse Meats team, through former college stars like Stacey Slavens, Laura and Dianna Klamm, Latisha Yarnell, Brenda Stolle, Sherri Spangler, Susan Punzo, Kathy Mohler, Taylor Zordel, Chris Torrez and former Washburn Rural star Lisa Carey, who led Oklahoma to an NCAA national championship.

Lisa Carey [Submitted]Lisa Carey [Submitted]


Lauren MillsLauren Mills [GoShockers.com]

Latisha YarnellLatisha Yarnell [Washburn Athletics]

The county's legacy has continued with current NCAA Division I players like Hayden Reed, Kasey Hamilton and Lauren Mills as well as All-MIAA picks Jaycee Ginter and Paige Petefish and high school superstars like Topeka High state champs NiJaree Canady and Zoe Caryl and Kansas-bound Olivia Bruno of Washburn Rural.

There are 25 candidates in all listed to pick from at https://linkto.run/p/3RGD7LY9 while readers are encouraged to write in the names of their favorites.

Vote as many times as you wish, with the only requirement that eligible candidates must have grown up in Shawnee County or attended one of the county's 10 high schools.

Final selections will be based on reader vote as well as input from TSN contributors and current and past local sports media professionals.   

Votes will be accepted through July 31 before TSN publishes our Best of the Best lists in August.

NEXT UP: Women's swimming.

Related Stories and Videos