Welcome to Top Sports News

Undefeated state-champion Trojans headline all-county softball

NiJareeCanadyregional2Topeka High junior NiJaree Canady has been named TopSports.news' All-Shawnee County softball player of the year after leading the Trojans to a 25-0 record and the Class 6A state championship. [Photo by Jeff Jacobsen/Action Images Photography]



Fresh off a historic 25-0 season and a first-ever Class 6A state championship, Topeka High headlines the 2021 TopSports.news All-Shawnee County softball team.

Trojan junior star NiJaree Canady was named the Shawnee County player of the year while sophomore Adisyn Caryl got the nod as newcomer of the year and High coach Shane Miles was named the county coach of the year.

Canady posted a perfect 21-0 pitching record this spring with an 0.26 earned run average and 226 strikeouts while also hitting .478 with 13 home runs.

Canady was at her best in the 6A state tournament, not allowing an earned run in three complete-game pitching performances while hitting a solo home run in a 1-0 semifinal win over Gardner-Edgerton that provided the impetus for the Trojans' 7-1 win over Olathe North in the state championship game.

E20aKB X0AkFQU1Topeka High sophomore shortstop Adisyn Caryl has been named the Shawnee County softball newcomer of the year after helping lead the Trojans to the Class 6A state championship. [File photo/TSN]

Adisyn Caryl, a shortstop, was tapped as Shawnee County's top newcomer after completing her first high school season while Miles led Topeka High to its second straight Class 6A state tournament berth and its first Centennial League title.

Topeka High star senior catcher Zoe Caryl joined Canady and Adisyn Caryl on the first team while Class 6A state quarterfinalist Washburn Rural (20-3) also put three players on the All-Shawnee County first team, with the Junior Blues represented by senior Olivia Bruno, junior Campbell Bagshaw and sophomore Emmerson Cope. Bruno was earlier named the Centennial League player of the year.

OliviaBrunoWashburn Rural senior Olivia Bruno, earned first-team honors on the All-Shawnee County softball team after helping lead the Junior Blues to a Class 6A state tournament berth. [Photo by Rex Wolf/TSN

EllingtonHogleSilver Lake senior Ellington Hogle, (15) has been named to the All-Shawnee County softball first team after helping lead the Eagles to a runner-up finish in the Class 3A state tournament. [Photo by Rex Wolf/TSN]

Class 3A state runner-up Silver Lake (22-4) landed senior Ellington Hogle and freshman Makenzie McDaniel on the first team while 5A state qualifier Shawnee Heights is represented by senior Adysen Burghart and junior Abby Schulte on the all-county squad after helping the T-Birds post an 18-5 record. 

Seaman (16-6) put senior Raigan Kramer and junior Emma Smith on the first team while Hayden (12-9) is represented by senior Lauren Cook and junior Carly Stuke and Rossville (19-4) by senior Destiy Bergstresser.


First team

Name, school                                                      Class

Campbell Bagshaw, Washburn Rural                  Jr.

Destiny Bergstresser, Rossville                           Sr.

Olivia Bruno, Washburn Rural                             Sr.

Adysen Burghart, Shawnee Heights                   Sr.

NiJaree Canady, Topeka High                             Jr.

Adisyn Caryl, Topeka High                                  So.

Zoe Caryl, Topeka High                                       Sr.

Lauren Cook, Hayden                                          Sr.

Emmerson Cope, Washburn Rural                      So.

Ellington Hogle, Silver Lake                                 Sr.

Raigan Kramer, Seaman                                      Sr.

Makenzie McDaniel, Silver Lake                           Fr.

Abby Schulte, Shawnee Heights                          Jr.

Emma Smith, Seaman                                          Jr.

Carly Stuke, Hayden                                             Jr.

Second team

Taryn Burkhardt, Silver Lake                                Jr.

Ava Delgado, Hayden                                          Fr.

Callee Dempewolf, Seaman                                Sr.

Baylee Dial, Washburn Rural                               Jr.

Alyssa Droge, Hayden                                         So.

Skylar Duncan, Seaman                                      Jr.

Deja Gardenhire, Shawnee Heights                    Jr.

Taylor Hawkins, Shawnee Heights                      Sr.

Mikaila Herring, Washburn Rural                         Jr.

Kynlea Heydenreich, Seaman                             Jr.

Hailey Horton, Silver Lake                                   Fr.

Mykala Johnico, Shawnee Heights                      Sr.

Mia Kelly, Topeka High                                         Sr.

Gracie Rabe, Rossville                                         Sr.

Quincy Smith, Topeka High                                  So.

Honorable mention

Hayden: Tatum Abbey, so. Highland Park: Samantha Aleantara, jr.; Citlaly Olguin Martinez, sr.; Ayanna Reynoso, sr. Rossville: Caylee Douglas, jr.; Brinley Dyche, so.; Emma Mitchell, fr.; Kinsey Perine, fr. Seaman: Aspen Burgardt, so. Shawnee Heights: Ariah Durkes, jr. Silver Lake: Kabryn Kruger, fr; McKinley Kruger, fr, Avery Wende, fr. Topeka High: Amiah Cain, jr.; Elycia Joyce, jr.; Zoie Kincade, sr.; Tatum Wilson, sr. Topeka West: Whitley Benson, jr.; Neavah Dice, sr.; Jaya Miller, fr.; Sania Sanchez, fr.; Malia Thurman, sr. Washburn Rural: Kaci Bath, so.

Player of the year -- NiJaree Canady, Topeka High.

Newcomer of the year -- Adisyn Caryl, Topeka High.

Coach of the year -- Shane Miles, Topeka High