Welcome to Top Sports News

State champ Topeka High, Rural dominate All-Centennial softball

OliviaBrunoWashburn Rural senior Olivia Bruno was voted Centennial League softball player of the year by league coaches after helping lead the Junior Blues to a 20-3 record and a Class 6A state tournament berth. [File photo/TSN]



Undefeated Class 6A state champion Topeka High and 6A quarterfinalist Washburn Rural combined for seven of 12 first-team berths on the All-Centennial League softball team while sweeping the league's three individual honors.

Topeka High, which went 25-0 on the season en route to league, regional and state championships, is represented on the first team by seniors Zoe Caryl and Mia Kelly, junior NiJaree Canady and sophomore Adisyn Caryl while 20-3 Rural put senior Olivia Bruno, junior Campbell Bagshaw and sophomore Emmerson Cope on the first team.

Rural' star pitcher and first baseman Bruno was selected by league coaches as the Centennial League player of the year while Topeka High's Adisyn Caryl, the Trojans' shortstop, was named the newcomer of the year and High coach Shane Miles selected as the league's coach of the year.

 E20aKB X0AkFQU1Topeka High sophomore shortstop Adisyn Caryl has been named the Centennial League newcomer of the year after helping lead the Trojans to the Class 6A state championship. [File photo/TSN]

ZoeCarylHRTopeka High softball coach Shane Miles congrates Zoe Caryl after a home run earlier this season. Miles was named the Centennial League coach of the year while Caryl was a first-team all-league pick. [File photo by Rex Wolf/TSN]

Senior Lauren Cook and junior Carly Stuke both earned all-league first-team berths for Hayden, while Seaman put senior Raigan Kramer and junior Kynlea Heydenreich on the first team and Manhattan is represented by sophomore Takara Kolterman.

Topeka High earned its first-ever Centennial League and 6A titles in 2021 while Rural advanced to the state tournament for the third straight season.


First team

Name, school Class

Campbell Bagshaw, Washburn Rural Jr.

Olivia Bruno, Washburn Rural Sr.

Nijaree Canady, Topeka High Jr.

Adisyn Caryl, Topeka High So.

Zoe Caryl, Topeka High Sr.

Lauren Cook, Hayden Sr.

Emmerson Cope, Washburn Rural So.

Kynlea Heydenreich, Seaman Jr.

Mia Kelly, Topeka High Sr.

Takara Kolterman, Manhattan So.

Raigan Kramer, Seaman Sr.

Carly Stuke, Hayden Jr.

Second team

Aspen Burgardt, Seaman So.

Callee Dempewolf, Seaman Sr.

Ava Deguzman, Junction City So.

Ava Delgado, Hayden Fr.

Skylar Duncan, Seaman Jr.

Baylee Dial, Washburn Rural Jr.

Shaylee Ginter, Emporia So.

Mikaila Herring, Washburn Rural Jr.

Reagan Neitzel, Manhattan Fr.

Quincy Smith, Topeka High So.

Kaylee Thomas, Emporia Sr.

Honorable mention

Emporia: Gracie Gilpin, jr.; Kaylee Reimer, so. Hayden: Tatum Abbey, so.; Alyssa Droge, so. Highland Park: Ayanna Reynoso, sr. Junction City: Amira Bivens, sr.; Megan Hunt, sr.; Sara Rexrode, fr.; Lucy Rivera, sr. Manhattan: Kaitlyn Gregoire, jr. Seaman: Emma Smith, jr. Topeka High: Amiah Cain, jr.; Elycia Joyce, jr.; Zoie Kincade, sr.; Tatum Wilson, sr. Topeka West: Whitley Benson, jr.; Neavah Dice, sr.; Lexie Thompson, sr.; Malia Thurman, sr. Washburn Rural: Kaci Bath, so.

Player of the year -- Olivia Bruno, Washburn Rural.

Newcomer of the year -- Adisyn Caryl, so.

Coach of the year -- Shane Miles, Topeka High.