Welcome to Top Sports News

Canady repeats as Centennial League girls player of the year

NiJareeCanadySMNWTopeka High junior NiJaree Canady has been named Centennial League girls player of the year for the second straight season after averaging 20.6 points and 12.3 rebounds for the 23-2 Trojans. [Photo by Jeff Jacobsen/Action Images Photography]



NiJaree Canady, a 6-foot junior, earned the Centennial League girls player of the year honor for the second straight season after leading Topeka High to the undefeated league championship, a second-place finish in the Class 6A state tournament and a 23-2 record overall.

Canady, who averaged 20.6 points and 12.3 rebounds, was joined on the all-league first team by sophomore Kiki Smith and senior Lilly Smith in balloting by league coaches.

KikiSmithHeightsTopeka High sophomore Kiki Smith has been named to the All-Centennial League first team after helping lead the Trojans to a second-place finish in Class 6A. [Photo by Rex Wolf/TSN]

LillySmithHeightsTopeka High senior Lilly Smith was one of three Trojans earning spots on the All-Centennial League first team. [Photo by Rex Wolf/TSN]

Washburn Rural (16-3) put sophomore Brooklyn DeLeye and junior Emma Krueger on the first team while Emporia junior Gracie Gilpin rounded out the first team.

EmmaKruegerRuralWashburn Rural junior Emma Krueger earned a berth on the All-Centennial League team after helping lead the Junior Blues to a 16-3 record. [File photo/TSN]

BrooklynDeLeyevsTHighBrooklyn DeLeye, a Washburn Rural sophomore, received first-team All-Centennial League honors from league coaches. [File photo/TSN] 

Emporia coach Carolyn Dorsey was selected Centennial League coach of the year,.

Seaman freshman Taylin Stallbaumer was named the league's newcomer of the year after helping the Vikings reach the 5A state quarterfinals.

Stallbaumer was also named to the all-league second team along with senior teammate Raigan Kramer, Hayden senior Rhen Calhoon and junior Carly Stuke, Washburn Rural freshman Zoe Canfield and Manhattan senior Taylor Claussen.

City players earning honorable mention included senior Isabella Carter and junior Aisya Taylor of Highland Park, senior Jae'Mya Lyons and junior Tae Thomas of Topeka High and sophomore MaRyah Lutz and freshman Jada Ingram of Washburn Rural.


First team

NiJaree Canady, jr., Topeka High; Brooklyn DeLeye, so., Washburn Rural; Gracie Gilpin, jr., Emporia; Emma Krueger, jr., Washburn Rural; Kiki Smith, so., Topeka High; Lilly Smith, sr., Topeka High.

Second team

Rhen Calhoon, sr., Hayden; Zoe Canfield, fr., Washburn Rural; Taylor Claussen, sr., Manhattan; Raigan Kramer, sr., Seaman; Taylin Stallbaumer, fr., Seaman; Carly Stuke, jr., Hayden.

Honorable mention

Emporia: Allie Baker, jr.; Rebecca Snyder, so. Highland Park: Isabella Carter, sr.; Aisya Taylor, jr. Junction City: Mellana Davis, sr.; Lucy Rivera, sr. Manhattan: Avery Larson, so.' Destiny Yates, so. Topeka High: Jae'Mya Lyons, sr.; Tae Thomas, jr. Washburn Rural: Jada Ingram, fr.; MaRyah Lutz, so. 

Player of the year — NiJaree Canady, Topeka High.

Newcomer of the year — Taylin Stallbaumer, Seaman.

Coach of the year — Carolyn Dorsey, Emporia.