Welcome to Top Sports News

City stars Alexander, Berry, Wilkerson share Centennial League player of the year honor



Centennial League coaches found it impossible to single out one boys player as the best in the league, with the voting for player of the year ending up a three-way tie between seniors Trevion Alexander and Marque Wilkerson of Topeka West and Joe Berry of Washburn Rural.

TrevionAlexanderStateTopeka West senior Trevion Alexander was one of three players named Centennial League tri-players of the year. [Photo by Rex Wolf/TSN]

 JoeBerryManhattan2Washburn Rural senior Joe Berry was named Centennial League tri-player of the year for 2020-21. [File photo]

MarqueWilkersonhaysTopeka West senior Marque Wilkerson was named tri-Centennial League player of the year by league coaches. [File photo]

Alexander, Berry and Wilkerson share the player of the year while making up three-sixths of the All-Centennial first team along with West junior Elijah Brooks, Highland Park senior CJ Powell and Emporia senior Charles Snyder.

Topeka West junior Zander Putthoff was named the league's newcomer of the year while veteran Charger coach Rick Bloomquist was named the Centennial League coach of the year after leading West to a 21-3 record, the Centennial League championship and a runner-up finish in the Class 5A state tournament.

Seaman junior Ty Henry, Washburn Rural senior Jack Hutchinson, Highland Park junior Juan'Tario Roberts and Topeka High senior Jalen Smith were named to the second team along with Manhattan senior Owen Braxmeyer and Junction City senior Chris Dixon.

City players receiving honorable mention included sophomore Joe Otting of Hayden, senior Jahi Peppers of Highland Park, sophomore Kaeden Bonner and junior Mateo Hyman of Seaman, Putthoff of Topeka West and sophomore Jack Bachelor of Washburn Rural.


First team

Trevion Alexander, sr., Topeka West; Joe Berry, sr., Washburn Rural; Elijah Brooks, jr., Topeka West; CJ Powell, sr., Highland Park; Charles Snyder, sr., Emporia; Marque Wilkerson, sr., Topeka West.

Second team

Owen Braxmeyer, sr., Manhattan; Chris Dixon, sr., Junction City; Ty Henry, jr., Seaman; Jack Hutchinson, sr., Washburn Rural; Juan'Tario Roberts, jr., Highland Park; Jalen Smith, sr., Topeka High.

Honorable mention

Hayden: Joe Otting, so. Highland Park: Jahi Peppers, sr. Junction City: Howard Johnson, jr.; Terrance Tedder, jr. Manhattan: Cameron Carr, so.; Jack Wilson, so. Seaman: Kaeden Bonner, so.; Mateo Hyman, jr. Topeka West: Zander Putthoff, jr. Washburn Rural: Jack Bachelor, so.

Tri-players of the year -- Trevion Alexander, Topeka West; Joe Berry, Washburn Rural; Marque Wilkerson, Topeka West.

Newcomer of the year -- Zander Putthoff, Topeka West.

Coach of the year -- Rick Bloomquist, Topeka West.