Welcome to Top Sports News

Former Shawnee County prep stars named captains for ESU football



Former Seaman standout Dalton Cowan, Rossville product Dawson Hammes and Topeka High grad Corey Thomas has been selected as Emporia State football team captains for the 2022 season.

DaltonCowanFormer Seaman star Dalton Cowan earned second-team All-MIAA honors at stinger back for Emporia State last fall. [Photo courtesy of Emporia State Athletics]

DawsonHammesFormer Rossville star Dawson Hammes will serve as a team captain for Emporia State's football team for the second straight season this fall. [Photo courtesy of ESU Athletics]

CoreyThomasFormer Topeka High standout Corey Thomas earned All-MIAA honorable mention for Emporia State last season as a receiver. [Photo courtesy of ESU Athletics]

Cowan, an S-back, linebacker Hammes and receiver Thomas also served as captains for the Hornets last season.

Also selected as captains were safety Jaedon Pool, quarterback Braden Gleason and offensive lineman Conner Lierz.

The captains are selected from the group of Iron Hornet Officers and voted on by the entire team.

Gleason and Lierz are in their first year as team captains while Pool joined Cowan, Hammes and Thomas as a captain in 2021. 

Cowan was named second-team All-MIAA at all-purpose back. The Seaman grad only played in six games due to injury but led Emporia State with 55.2 yards per game from his Stinger Back position.

Thomas was named honorable mention All-MIAA as a receiver last season, ranking 10th in the MIAA in total receptions last season with 44 receptions for 501 yards and four touchdowns.

Hammes was an honorable mention All-MIAA linebacker last year after ranking fourth in the MIAA in total tackles.

The Hornets are scheduled to open the 2022 season on Thursday, September 1, against Northeastern State.

Family Service and Guidance Center presents “In the Know”

TSN In the Know Logo

Youth Suicide Prevention:            What Parents Need to Know

click video tab
A1 Lock Key Logo

Key perfomers of the week

JacksonEsquibelnewmugJakeMullermug4TreRichardsonBBmug 2

ChrisBarnes3 002


2023 Hall of Fame inductee Chris Barnes 2017 Hall of Fame inductee Gary Woodland

TSN Video Podcast