Welcome to Top Sports News

Elijah Brooks, Ty Henry tapped to play in KBCA All-Star game



Topeka West senior Elijah Brooks and Seaman senior Ty Henry have been selected to play in the Kansas Basketball Coaches Association All-Star boys game June 18 in Salina.

Brooks, 6-foot-4, will play for the Blue team while Henry, 6-5, will play for the Gold.

ElijahBrooksWRTopeka West star Elijah Brooks has been picked to play for the Blue team in the KBCA All-Star Game on June 18 in Salina. [File photo/TSN]

TyHenrydunkSeaman standout Ty Henry has been chosen to play for the Gold team in the KBCA All-Star Game on June 18 in Salina. [File photo/TSN]

Brooks helped lead Topeka West to the Class 5A state tournament as a senior while Henry helped lead Seaman to the school's first-ever 5A state championship.

Seaman coach Craig Cox, who coached his third state championship basketball team (five titles overall), will serve as an assistant coach for the Gold.

Washburn Rural coach Kevin Bordewick, who coached the Junior Blues to their second 6A state title since 2019 (his ninth title overall), will serve as an assistant coach for the Blue team in the KBCA All-Star girls game.

Cox has been named the KBCA's 5A boys coach of the year while Bordewick has been named the 6A girls coach of the year.

The KBCA games will be played at 5 p.m. (girls)  and 7:30 (boys) on June 18 at Kansas Wesleyan's Mabee Gym.

Former city high school coaches Bryce Stallard and Mike Brinsko will be inducted into the KBCA Hall of Fame.

Stallard, who passed away in 2006, coached Washburn Rural to the Class A state boys championship in 1960 while Brinsko had a successful run at Highland Park before moving to Shawnee Mission West.



Blue -- Kenneth Bundy, 6-3, Blue Valley North; Mozae Downing, 6-4, Free State; Sam Somerhalder, 6-7, St. Academy; Elijah Brooks, 6-4, Topeka West; Jake Fritz, 6-3, Wamego; Kaleb Becker, 6-4, Abilene; Nahcs Wahwassuck, 6-4, Royal Valley; Harrison Voth, 6-1, Cheney; Toby Miller, 6-3, Lyndon; Avery Gatzemeyer, 6-1, Valley Falls; Derek Hoelting, 6-0, Olpe; Emmitt Jueneman, 6-2, Hanover.

Coaches -- Chris Schmidt, Greg Raleigh, Josh Gooch.

Gold -- Chase Harris, 6-1, Wichita Heights; Dreylin Kemp, 6-5, Wichita Heights; Kyle Grill, 6-6, Maize; Ty Henry, 6-5, Seaman; Cav Carlgren, 6-2, Concordia; Seth Madron, 6-2, McPherson; Cason Richardson, 6-3, Hesston; Brett Sarwinski, 5-11, Galena; Fred Criqui, 6-7, St. Marys; Matt Potucek, 6-1, Hillsboro; Trever Quaney, 6-8, Burlingame; Scott Price, 5-10, Bucklin.

Coaches -- Craig Cox, Joe Auer, Darrel Knoll.


Blue -- Saige Grampsas, 5-7, Shawnee Mission Northwest; Ella Mackiewicz, 5-10, Shawnee Mission Northwest; Kamryn Farris, 5-10, Lansing; Aubrie Kierscht, 5-6, Salina Central; Paige Donnelly, 5-6, Wamego; Gabi Henderson-Artis, 5-10, Bishop Miege; Emilee Lane, 6-0, TMP-Marian; Reese Roper, 5-7, Haven; Kali Briar, 5-7, Sterling; Tallon Rentschler, 6-0, Smith Center; McKenna Vogl, 6-0, Pretty Prairie; Kassie Miller, 5-6, Golden Plains.

Coaches -- Jill Rowland, Rick Hetzel, Scott Goering.

Gold -- Camree Johnson, 5-8, Dodge City; Reagan Halliday, 5-5, Olathe South; Maycee James, 5-8, Goddard; Gracie Gilpin, 5-6, Emporia; Harper Schreiner, 5-8, Eudora; Ali Zeka, 5-11, Wellington; Brynn McCormick, 5-7, Cheney; Macy Hanzlick, 5-10, Hoisington; Danielle Howard, 5-9, Uniontown; Emma Yungeberg, 6-0, Valley Heights; Lilyan Boughfman, 6-2, Little River; Kassidy Nixon, 5-8, Central Plains.

Coaches -- Kevin Bordewick, Bill Biermann, Pat Stiles.