Welcome to Top Sports News

Five T-Birds earn first-team All-United Kansas Conference honors

Rick Peterson, Top Sports News Writer



Five Shawnee Heights seniors earned first-team honors on the All-United Kansas Conference football team.

Lineman Orrin Busenitz and running back Jarin Sanders were first-team picks on offense while lineman Matthew Etzel, linebacker Rusty Ullery and defensive back Ja'Laveyn January were honored on defense.

 JarinSandersactionRunning back Jarin Sanders (4) is one of five Shawnee Heights seniors who earned All-Kansas Conference first-team honors. [File photo/TSN]

T-Birds seniors Diego Ruiz, Garrett Peery and Carter Olson and sophomores Jacob Malcom and Jayden Moore were second-team picks on offense and senior Harlan Watson and sophomore Alex Dittman were second-team defensive picks along with Etzel at kicker and senior Braeden Brown at punter.

Basehor-Linwood senior running back Zack Sisemore was named the UKC offensive player of the year while Lansing senior linebacker Caden Crawford was named the defensive player of the year.

Basehor-Linwood's Rod Stallbaumer was named the UKC coach of the year.




Line -- Levi Cooley, jr., Basehor-Linwood; Manny Vazquez, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Austin Mills, sr., De Soto; Chayce Chadwick, sr., De Soto; Orrin Busenitz, sr., Shawnee Heights. Tight end -- Chants Nelson, sr., Basehor-Linwood. Receivers -- Brant Wilson, jr., Basehor-Linwood; Ethan Schultze, sr., De Soto. Quarterback -- Tyler Schultze, sr., DeSoto. Backs -- Zach Sisemore, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Jarin Sanders, sr., Shawnee Heights. All-purpose -- Gage Greer, jr., Basehor-Linwood. 


Line -- Dalton Harris, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Drake Courtney, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Zach White, sr., De Soto; Matthew Etzel, sr., Shawnee Heights. Linebackers -- Sam Hicks, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Ben Longren, sr., De Soto; Caden Crawford, sr., Lansing; Rusty Ullery, sr., Shawnee Heights. Backs -- Tommy Lally, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Cole Heitman, so., De Soto; Richie Patrick, sr., Lansing; Ja'Laveyn January, sr., Shawnee Heights.

Returner -- Ethan Schultze, sr., De Soto.

Kicker -- Luke VanBooven, sr., De Soto.

Punter -- Liam Zell, sr., Lansing.



Line -- Pete Best, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Sam Lough, so., Basehor-Linwood; Dylan Murphy, sr., Leavenworth; Diego Ruiz, sr., Shawnee Heights; Garrett Peery, sr., Shawnee Heights. Tight end -- Carter Olson, sr., Shawnee Heights. Receivers -- Jacob Malcom, so., Shawnee Heights; Jayden Moore, so., Shawnee Heights. Quarterback -- Brady Garrison, sr., Basehor-Linwood. Backs -- Tyrone Butler, so., Lansing; Ty Cole, sr., Turner. All-purpose -- Amarion Green, so., De Soto.


Line -- John Johnson, sr., De Soto; AJ Shields, sr., Lansing; Riley Frederickson, sr., Leavenworth; Harlan Watson, sr., Shawnee Heights. Linebackers -- Aidan Ingram, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Sam Torline, jr., De Soto; Trenton Harper, sr., Leavenworth; Alex Dittman, so., Shawnee Heights.  Backs -- Kaleb Scott, so., Basehor-Linwood; Jacob Robinson, jr., Leavenworth; Willie George, sr., Leavenworth; David Taylor, sr., Turner.

Returner -- Brant Wilson, jr., Basehor-Linwood. Kicker -- Matthew Etzel, sr., Shawnee Heights. Punter -- Braeden Brown, sr., Shawnee Heights.

Shawnee Heights Honorable mention


Line -- Gavin Zuperku, jr. Receiver -- Jayden Holly, so.


Line -- Christian Gonzales, so. Linebacker -- Dawson Block, sr.; Sean Wunder, jr. Backs -- Jason Ward, sr.; Jaye Jones, jr.