Welcome to Top Sports News

City players sweep first-team All-Centennial League volleyball berths; Rural's DeLeye named league's player of the year



Washburn Rural junior Brooklyn DeLeye has been named the Centennial League volleyball player of the year, one of four players from the league-champion Junior Blues on the first team.

BrooklynDeLeye2Washburn Rural junior Brooklyn DeLeye has been named the Centennial League volleyball player of the year for the 2021 season. [File photo/TSN]

DeLeye, a three-time all-league and All-Class 6A State Tournament selection, helped lead the Junior Blues to a 41-2 record and a fourth-place finish in the 6A state tournament.

Rural also put senior Katelynn Brogan, junior Taylor Russell and sophomore Jada Ingram on the all-league first team, while Rural coach Kevin Bordewick was named the league coach of the year.

Seaman, which finished fourth in the 5A state tournament, is represented on the All-Centennial first team by senior Drew Baxter, junior Laynee Brown and sophomore Taylin Stallbaumer, while Viking freshman Maegan Mills was named the Centennial League newcomer of the year. Seaman posted a 27-13 record on the season.

DrewBaxtermugDrew Baxter

 LayneeBrownLaynee Brown

Baxter and Brown join DeLeye as repeat All-Centennial League first-team selections.

Topeka West junior Makinsey Jones also earned first-team all-league recognition after helping lead the Chargers to a breakthrough 27-10 season.

Washburn Rural junior Katie Borough and sophomore Zoe Canfield earned second-team all-league honors along with Seaman's Mills and Topeka West sophomore Jaya Miller.


First team

Drew Baxter, sr., Seaman; Katelynn Brogan, sr., Washburn Rural; Laynee Brown, jr., Seaman; Brooklyn DeLeye, jr., Washburn Rural; Jada Ingram, so., Washburn Rural; Makinsey Jones, jr., Topeka West; Taylor Russell, jr., Washburn Rural; Taylin Stallbaumer, so., Seaman.

Second team

Katie Borough, jr., Washburn Rural; Zoe Canfield, so., Washburn Rural; Gracie Gilpin, sr., Emporia; Jaya Miller, so., Topeka West; Maegan Mills, fr., Seaman; Rylee Peak, sr., Emporia; Maddyn Stewart, sr., Emporia; Grace Xu, sr., Emporia.

Honorable mention

Emporia: Rebecca Snyder, jr. Hayden: Anna Brown, sr.; Jenessa Broxterman, jr.; Abby Dodd, sr.; CC Hammes, sr.; Reagan Huscher, so. Junction City: Ava Deguzman, jr.; Gracie Erichsen, fr. Manhattan: Hayley Hastings, sr.; Aubree Hoffman, sr.; Monroe Say, sr.; Claire Shamburg, sr. Seaman: Brooklyn Gormley, so.; Reagan McGivern, fr.; Lindsey Smith, jr. Topeka High: Jo'Mhara Benning, fr.; Cierra Carranza, jr.; Quincy Smith, jr. Topeka West: Addison Brooks, so.; Malayah Henderson, jr.; Siana Sanchez, so.

Player of the year -- Brooklyn DeLeye, jr., Washburn Rural.

Newcomer of the year -- Margan Mills, fr., Seaman.

Coach of the year -- Kevin Bordewick, Washburn Rural.