Welcome to Top Sports News

Five T-Birds earn All-UKC volleyball recognition



Five Shawnee Heights volleyball players have earned All-United Kansas Conference recognition for the 2021 season, led by junior first-team selection Emily Loy.

Shawnee Heights seniors Kali Henry and Taryn Dial were named to the All-UKC second team and juniors Ellie Curry and Taylor Rottinghaus earned honorable mention.

Shawnee Heights Thunderbirds vert

Class 5A state champion Lansing put three players on the first team, including UKC player of the year Caitlin Bishop, a senior.

Lansing's Lindsay Zych was named the coach of the year.


First team

Jordan Knipp, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Mila Seaton, jr., Basehor-Linwood; Gracey Janes, sr., De Soto; Caitlin Bishop, sr., Lansing; Kamryn Farris, sr., Lansing; Olivia Mae Van Der Werff, sr., Lansing; Emily Loy, jr., Shawnee Heights.

Second team

Taylor Cruse, jr., Basehor-Linwood; Lillie Sullivan, sr., De Soto; Iyannah Jackson, sr., Lansing; McKenzie Moburg, sr., Lansing; Kylee West, so., Leavenworth; Kali Henry, sr., Shawnee Heights; Taryn Dial, sr., Shawnee Heights.

Honorable mention

Audrey Spellman, sr., Basehor-Linwood; Harley Baker, so., Basehor-Linwood; Carson Schuman, jr., De Soto; Maggie Winter, so., De Soto; Skylar Weaver, jr., Lansing; Emma Kenny, so., Leavenworth; Ellie Curry, jr., Shawnee Heights; Taylor Rottinghaus, jr., Shawnee Heights; Avery Bryant, jr., Turner; Megan Rockett, jr., Turner.

Player of the year -- Caitlin Bishop, Lansing.

Coach of the year -- Lindsay Zych, Lansing.